The Golden Scroll Awards 2011


 AWSA Announces Golden Scroll Award Winners

Advanced Writers and Speakers Association (AWSA) announced their 2011 winners for the Golden Scroll Awards, Sunday, July 10 th, at the Omni at CNN Center in Atlanta. Honored for outstanding ministry partnership with their authors, the Golden Scroll Publisher of the Year winner went to Discovery House. “ Although small in comparison to other houses, Discovery House demonstrates an enormous capacity to serve the Lord,” said author Penny Monetti.

The Editor of the Year winner went to Terry Glaspey of Harvest House Publishers. Author Connie Cavanaugh said of Terry, “Regardless of whether he is dealing with an author who sells in the millions or in the thousands, he treats us all with dignity, respect and love.”
The Fiction Editor of the Year winner went to Tyndale House Publisher’s Jan Stob. Jeanette Windle said of Stob, “She encourages, motivates, and cheers me on in my writing, but what I most appreciate is that when I think I’ve turned in a good book, she won’t let me rest until it’s an excellent one.”

The 2011 Golden Scroll book awards Novel of the Year went to Kathi Macias for Red Ink (New Hope Publishers), a gripping novel loosely based on a true story about a young Chinese woman who is forced to abort her second child, and eventually goes to prison for her faith.

The Nonfiction Book of the Year went to Margot Starbuck for The Girl in the Orange Dress (IVP Books), a cleverly written, poignant memoir regarding the author’s search for a true “father who does not fail.”

Becky Harling was named AWSA Member of the Year. AWSA founder Linda Evans Shepherd said, “Becky is both an abuse and cancer survivor. She inspires audiences, readers as well as our own prayer team to spend time daily praising God.”

Kathi Macias presented The Beyond Me Award to Yvonne Ortega. Macias said, “Yvonne has been through many heartaches and trials, yet she continues to allow God to use her pain to minister to others. She is indeed a “beyond me” person, modeling a “you-first life in a me-first world.”

The 2011 Golden Scroll Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Patsy Clairmont.

Carol Kent said of Clairmont, “As a much loved keynote speaker at Women of Faith arena events, Patsy’s triumph over agoraphobia has opened doors for her to share God’s healing power through spoken and written words.”

Clairmont keynoted the event, with Linda Gilden as emcee. Authors Carol Kent and Linda Evans Shepherd presented the awards. Recording artist Gwen Smith performed a parody written by Martha Bolton and dedicated to editors and publishers.

Following the banquet, Hollywood screenwriting consultant Linda Seger discussed turning Christian books into movies. AWSA, an outreach of Right to the Heart Ministries, consists of over 300 top ICRS women authors who both publish and speak nationally. See www.AWSA.com.

See the 2016 winners, click HERE.

See the 2015 winners, click HERE.

See the 2014 winners, click HERE.

See the 2013 winners, click HERE.

See the 2012 winners, click HERE.

See the 2011 winners, click HERE.

See the 2010 winners, click HERE.

See the 2009 winners, click HERE.

Speak Your Mind