Golden Scroll Awards 2017


The 2017 Golden Scroll Awards Winners

Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Continental Ball Room

AWSA (Advanced Writers and Speakers Association) announced the winners of the 2017 Golden Scroll Awards at the Golden Scroll Banquet, Tuesday, June 27th at the Hilton Plaza Hotel in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Honored for outstanding ministry partnerships with their authors, the Golden Scroll Publisher of the Year Award went to Kregel Publishers. AWSA author Letitia Suk says of Kregel, “I’m proud to have Kregel’s name on my book and so grateful for their support and investment in me.”

Stephen Barcliff was named the winner of the Golden Scroll Non-Fiction Editor of the Year Award. Letitia Suk said, “Steve is sharp and smart about business, but always has time for his authors.”

The Fiction Editor of the Year was awarded to Lisa McCaskill of Pelican Book Group. AWSA author Robin Bayne said, “Lisa put a lot of dedicated effort into the re-release of my novel. She made the entire experience a breeze.”

The Golden Scroll Nonfiction Book of the Year Award went to Lynn Eib for Peace in the Face of Cancer from Tyndale House Publishers. The judges remarked, “A comforting, practical book about living with cancer by a survivor with a long time ministry to patients.”

Silver Scroll Merit Awards for Nonfiction went to Edie Melson for While My Child is Away from Worthy Inspired, Margot Starbuck and David King for Overplayed from Herald Press and Joy Schneider for How to Keep Grief from Stealing Your Destiny from Water of Life Unlimited.

The Golden Scroll Novel of the Year Award went to Cynthia Ruchti for Song of Silence from Abingdon Press. The judges described Ruchti’s novel as, “A stunning, beautiful, poetic, touching read.”

Golden Scroll Merit Awards for Fiction were also awarded to Martha Bolton for The Home Game from FaithHappenings Publishers, Lynette Eason for Without Warning from Revell and Edie Melson for Alone from Prism Book Group.

Silver Scroll Merit Awards for Fiction went to DiAnn Mills for Deadly Encounter from Tyndale House Publishers, Marilyn Turk for The Gilded Curse from Heritage Beacon Fiction and Lynette Eason for Moving Target from Revell.

The Golden Scroll Children’s Book of the Year was awarded to Crystal Bowman and Teri McKinley for Our Daily Bread for Preschoolers from Discovery House. The judges remarked, “This is an excellent book for teaching children ages 6 to 10 more about God.” The Golden Scroll Merit Award for Children’s Book of the Year went to Jeanne Dennis and Sheila Seifert for Bible Kid Adventures: Stories of Danger and Courage from Tyndale House Publishers.

AWSA’s official magazine, Leading Hearts, won their third straight Evangelical Press Association Merit award and honored their columnists including Pam Farrel, Michelle S. Cox, Rhonda Rhea, Penelope Carlevato, Saundra Dalton, Sharon Elliot, Kathy Collard Miller, Karen Porter, Karen Whiting and Cynthia Simmons.

The 2017 AWSA Member of the Year Award went to Suzanne Kuhn. AWSA founder Linda Evans Shepherd said, “Suzanne has so many hard-earned insights and gifts regarding building an author’s platform and she never hesitates to share her knowledge with her AWSA sisters.”

The Beyond Me Award went to Karynthia Phillips, a medical professional, who not only works with high-risk pregnancies in the prison population but works with women audiences through her mentoring, writing and speaking. The prestigious 2017 Impact Award was presented to Carol Kent. Shepherd says of Kent, “Carol has served the Lord through both tragedy and pain, and made such a difference for the cause of Christ.”

Carol Kent served as the keynote speaker and recording artist, Ginny Owens, performed the special music. AWSA President Karen Porter served as emcee. Authors Carol Kent and Linda Evans Shepherd presented the awards and AWSA member Jeanne Dennis performed a parody written by Martha Bolton dedicated to editors and publishers.

AWSA, the sponsor of the Golden Scroll Awards Banquet, is an outreach of Right to the Heart Ministries and consists of over 500 top ICRS women authors who both publish and speak nationally. See


More Highlights below:




















































See the 2016 winners, click HERE.

See the 2015 winners, click HERE.

See the 2014 winners, click HERE.

See the 2013 winners, click HERE.

See the 2012 winners, click HERE.

See the 2011 winners, click HERE.

See the 2010 winners, click HERE.

See the 2009 winners, click HERE.

AWSA Conference News!

AWSA 2016 Member of Year - Cynthia Simmons getting hugged by Pam Christian

AWSA 2016 Member of Year – Cynthia Simmons gets a hug from Pam Christian at Spring Golden Scroll Banquet at CBA.

We are getting ready to head back to Cincinnati – to the Hilton Plaza Hotel for the 2017 AWSA Conference, Sunday, June 25 through Tuesday, June 27.  CBA starts Wednesday, June 25.  To read more about our conference, click HERE.

Learn more about out 2017 Golden Scroll Awards Banquet, click HERE.

To see who won the 2016 Golden Scroll Awards, click HERE.

We are heading back to Murfreesboro, TN for a RETREAT at Munce in September 16-17, so save the dates.  More info soon.



AWSA @ Fall Retreat at CPE in Murfreesboro

AWSA @ Fall Retreat at CPE in Murfreesboro